Red Velvet = Overrated.

Yes.  I dare to say that.  I really don’t see what the big deal is.  Really don’t.

I mean, people call it a chocolate cake, but I see it more as a white cake dyed red.  The amount of chocolate hardly justifies it being called a “chocolate cake”.

Anywho.. I figured that it’s about time I gave Red Velvet a shot.  Especially since I’ve been asked to make a semi-red velvet cake for a friend’s friend’s wedding (more details to come on that in the future!).

I did not realize how much red food dye goes into red velvet cake.  I suppose I should go for the au natural option of using beet juice, but it didn’t occur to me to try it until I dumped an entire bottle of red food dye into the batter.  Sick.

 

Doesn’t the red look SO scary?!  YIKES.  😦

But, I suppose the contrast of red against the white is visually appealing.   Cream cheese frosting, of course.

I think I need to try a different recipe.  I didn’t particularly like the taste.  Perhaps a recipe that requires more cocoa powder?  And less food dye.  Yuck.  Though, I was actually hoping for a brighter red.  In which case… calls for MORE food dye.  Oh, the dilemma.

But my verdict still stands.  Hate me all you want!  Red velvet = overrated.  🙂

5 thoughts on “Red Velvet = Overrated.

  1. Miss Franberry says:

    Great blog, Val! However, I do stand by some pretty amazing Red Velvet’s out there. For the most part, yes, I agree that they are overrated. However, the natural ones (with really good chocolate) and beet juice can be quite light and delightful. I actually like to put cream cheese in the actual cake and top with a light vanilla bean buttercream–I think it’s got less of a sugary artificial taste to it. I do like cream cheese frosting quite a bit for other cakes though. Like carrot or pumpkin. A friend of mine made a “green velvet” which was with cocoa and matcha green tea powder and that was divine. 🙂

  2. Kristen Vo says:

    I thought the same exact thing when I made red velvet cupcakes for Lori’s bridal shower (the only time I bake…and the only time I’ve made anything red velvet)…the only reason it’s red is because you dump a ton of red dye into it! Haha that’s whack. But oh so tasty 🙂 If you ever want to try red velvet cupcakes, these were pretty good, even when I made them (which is saying a lot!): http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Red-Velvet-Cupcakes/Detail.aspx

  3. KC says:

    HAHAHAHA. I JUST saw this post… can’t wait to see what the final wedding cake looks like. Annd… try using the food gel next time– I bought myself some red food gel, but have yet to use it (actually I need to go find it b/c I forgot where I put it!)

Leave a Reply

