Purely Pumpkin

Ah yes.  I’ve already written about pumpkins in my last post.. but I must continue! (And my apologies for following up SO LATE.)

I decided that I wanted to make my own pumpkin puree.  I know.  It’s  probably easier to just buy the Libby’s brand pumpkin puree.. but I felt like it was a worthy challenge to try and make my own.

I saw piles of cute pumpkins at Trader Joe’s and felt that they would be perfect.  I imagined making pumpkin pie or pumpkin soup with them.  As it turns out, I decided to use 2 cups of it for my Silky Smooth Pumpkin Pie for my family Thanksgiving dinner.

But before I talk about the pie… I shall share with you how I made my very own pumpkin puree.  🙂

Can you tell which one is homemade and which one is store bought?! 🙂

And with my homemade pumpkin puree.. I made the above mentioned Silky Smooth Pumpkin Pie.  And let me tell you… it was freaken smooth. 🙂

Let me tell you something.  Since my mom didn’t own a larger sieve or strainer.. I sat there for like 20 minutes mashing the pumpkin filling through the tiny TEA STRAINER in order to get the silky smooth filling.  Needless to say.. my hands were not happy with me. haha.

But look at the end result!  So silky smooth.  And tasted so wonderfully too!

I think because I was pressed for time.. I didn’t let the pie rest and cool off like the recipe asked for.. the pie didn’t set as firmly as I’d like.  Next time I’ll have to make sure I give myself at least 3 hours for the pie to sit.  It was a hit with the family though, so I can’t complain.  🙂

I hope that everyone enjoyed their Thanksgiving too!

Now it is time for Christmas! 🙂  Oh I’m excited!  Not so much for the crazy lines at the mall or the repetitious playing of Christmas songs.  But for the baking!  Cranberry desserts, gingerbread cookies and peppermint bark time!  😀

Come back soon for more updates! 🙂

One thought on “Purely Pumpkin

Leave a Reply

