Baking Craze pt. 2

I am pretty amazed at how productive I’ve been tonight! 🙂

The Blueberry Buttermilk Cakes are done! 🙂

The Apple Muffins are cooling as we speak.

The Apple Coffee Cake is in the oven now  FINISHED TOO! (since I take forever to post. HAHA)

Want to see pictures?

Of course you do.  hehe.

Don’t they all look DELICIOUS?! 😀

I actually found all of these recipes online… so check them out!

The Blueberry Buttermilk Cake was actually adapted from Smitten Kitchen.  I used blueberries instead of raspberries… pretty easy substitution.  🙂

The Apple Muffins were taken from Pinch My Salt… with the obvious substitution of regular all-purpose flour for whole grain and not so obvious substitution of buttermilk in place of sour cream.  I used 7/8 cup of buttermilk instead of the sour cream, in case you were wondering.  But I read you can also do 3/4 cup of buttermilk with 1/3 cup of butter.  And there are other substitutions you can make, but I usually have buttermilk lying around so it was a pretty convenient replacement.

Last but not least, I got the Apple Coffee Cake recipe from Simply Recipes.  I substituted 2/3 cup of evaporated plus 1/3 cup water for the whole milk.  I try to have a variety of dairy products (heavy whipping cream, whole milk, buttermilk, 2% milk) in the fridge for my baking purposes, but since I’m not a huge dairy fan and they expire so darn fast, I have to make do with what I got. haha. 🙂  I also added a tsp of nutmeg (because I love spices!) and dipped the apple spices in the cinnamon/nutmeg/sugar mixture before I arranged them in the cake.  The recipe says to sprinkle it on top, but I feel like it’d make everything just that much tastier! 🙂

And unfortunately.. I got burned.. ONCE AGAIN.  Ugh.  This is like the… what?  4th time?!  I saran-wrapped ice around the burn so I won’t get too bad of a scar.. we shall see. haha. 😦

But yes.  It is quite late.  I must sleep, but I am extremely impressed that I managed to bake so many things tonight. 🙂  Who knows what I’ll make tomorrow?  Nectarine muffins?  Blackberry pockets?!  Caramel Cranberry Tarts?! 😀

Super excited!!

But must sleep!  So peace! 🙂

One thought on “Baking Craze pt. 2

  1. Vicky K says:

    Val!!! your baked good last night was so delish! thanks for sharing! Justin and my dad liked them too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

