Perhaps Baking IS My Calling?

Or perhaps this is a bit of a premature thought… all based on the fact that I’m not baked-out from my wedding cake adventures.  I’ve actually baked two cakes (albeit, from cake mix) since Saturday. haha.

I have so many leftover buttercream and sliced strawberries that I need any excuse to use them.  And since yesterday was Father’s Day, I decided to make a double layer dark chocolate fudge cake with strawberries and chocolate buttercream.  Needless to say, it was a success! 🙂

Then this morning, I woke up and baked another cake for my coworkers because I had to go into the office.  I think they loved it too! 🙂  Though.. I did have a slight mishap when the top layer completely slid off while I was walking to the car.  No worries, I was able to salvage it.   And no, I did not pick it off the floor, dust it off, and put it back on. haha.

Crazy, huh?  But who knows.  Maybe this is a fluke.. because I have had moments when the thought of mixing and pouring and opening an oven and such was just too overwhelming for me.  haha.

But yes, here are some of my favorite shots. 🙂

I realized just how much fun it is to make cakes.  Well, I’ve always known, but I feel a new appreciation for it. I admit that it is more stressful than making cupcakes, but I feel like the WOW factor is much greater. haha.  Though.. I do miss making cupcakes.  Perhaps I will bake tomorrow night too? 🙂

It’s crazy!  I have all these new ideas that I want to try!  If only I had more time and money… sigh.

But yes, perhaps I should really reconsider the whole bakery idea again.  At the very least, I should get a business card and start finding opportunities to bake for whatever occasion (birthdays, weddings, baby showers, banquets, etc!), huh?  Hmmmmmm… 🙂

Leave a Reply

