Practice practice practice!

Hello everyone!

Sorry for being MIA. 😦  I’ve been quite busy lately with work and church fellowship and playing and being sick.  Yes.  My nasty death cough is back.  Le sigh.  Still not sure what is it.. but I’m thinking that 4 times in under 6 months is NOT a good thing. 😦

But onto more happy/exciting news!  I have finally gotten around to practicing with the final tier of Tritia’s wedding cake!  I have already baked several times with the top and middle tiers, but now I’ve finally tested the bottom tier.  Not only is it the biggest tier, but the biggest cake I’ve ever baked!  I wasn’t too sure how long to bake it, but it came out quite beautifully!  Since this is just practice, I made Dark Chocolate Fudge from the box but frosted it with homemade Chocolate Buttercream.  Yummy chocolate-y goodness. 🙂

And of course.. I covered it with fondant.  Rolling out fondant is a serious workout.  I worry that I might pull a back muscle one of these days. haha.  I don’t know if I’m going to decorate it or not yet.. that’s more of my roommate’s specialty.  But if she does, I’ll be sure to post up pictures.

Speaking of pictures.. my camera came in!  But I forgot to get a memory card.. so until that comes in next week.. no playing with the cam just yet.  Oh well.  Once I get my hands on my apartmentmate’s camera, I will dutifully post up pictures of this cake!  🙂

And I stumbled upon some awesome and cute recipes that I’d like to try (one of which is POP TARTS! AH! HOW EXCITING!).. so here’s to hoping I get to them within the week!

Until next time!

One thought on “Practice practice practice!

  1. Fondant = yuck. They call it “edible.” Sure you can digest it, but it’s never mentioned that it’s not palatable. It sure is beautiful, but for me it might as well be wax. Bleh.

    Your fondant skills are improving! Unfortunately for me, I don’t want to taste it. ahhaa

Leave a Reply

